Before A Studio Session

Before stepping up to the starting line for a road race a lot of pre-start gun pacing takes place.  Mental check lists pop up.  Have I consumed enough water?  Did I eat enough so I’m well fueled?  Do I need to pee…again?  Next, I see myself running and crossing the line.

Before starting a body of art a similar pre-studio pacing begins.  The place is organized and then reorganized.  Floors are swept.  I start picturing things in my head.  I don’t quite see “finished” art in my mind, but I see things to step towards.

So on the second day of 2012 I’m sweeping, imagining my art and doing some low pace road running.  It’s good to anticipate.

 

Leave a Reply

