Expounding the Confounding

I recently showed images of my newest art to people who do not make art.  As I showed the images I talked a little about how the series of 12 small paintings came about.  While brief comments are included with each image on my website, those comments are more like two or three sentence micro-short fictional stories about the art.

The comments I made as we clicked on images were less poetic and more direct.  While the others got a sense of what the on-line statements implied, they appreciated my candor as we viewed a computer screen with my website.  They encouraged me to add some of what I told them to the website.  I decided to post it on this blog.

The series is about the process of sorting and assessing the stuff that is amassed during the life of a married couple.  Once they die their children have to decide what to do with it…Who gets what, how much?  What is saved, tossed, donated?  In the task of uncovering decades of things you learn a great deal more about that couple.  It’s all confounding, difficult, amusing and unavoidable.  Ultimately, it is a freeing moment… One cannot avoid evaluating their own priorities after confronting the contents of their parent’s home.

I’ll go into detail on one painting from this series and let you interpret the rest of the works.  View the artwork titled “Scatter” that is pictured below.  (Click on image for a larger view).  There is a male figure (one of my brothers) wearing overalls who is running towards the back of a large structure.  The figure is inside an industrial sized dumpster.  There are images of things flying in the air bound for the dumpster.  Notice bike parts, documents, food packaging, broken furniture, etc.  At the bottom of the image a series of birthday cake candles are burning.  At the top of the image birds sit in trees to observe what is happening.  Those birds were in the trees behind my parent’s home as we went through the contents of the house.  My parents loved feeding birds and growing flowers.  The piece titled “Scatter” presents a moment of  transition all the living eventually face.

"Scatter"

Leave a Reply

