Listening (a poem)

sticky-crows.jpg

 

 

 

Listening

Someday I’m going to shut up
sit down and listen
to all the things and words
I’ve been missing.

I’ll hear what I should have heard
at some point long ago
I’m starting today
before the next time goes away.

I’ll sit listening instead of hissing
as the world expands beyond
the reaches of my rattling voice
and shrinking head.

Yes, I’m making a choice
it’s time to listen more
before another one of us
flies away (or drops dead).

Gregory Zeorlin 11/11/14 10am
Copyright 2014 Gregory Zeorlin

Click here to read a few more of my poems.

 

Leave a Reply

