Seeing You Now (a poem)

Seeing You Now

Picture only the young
embracing two hearts racing
faces free of sunspots
feet un-callused butts baby smooth

But minds can be young
years after a golden ring
slipped upon a slender finger
even without jewels draped over a svelte body
my bride exceeded all adornments
in that graced state anyway

And here we are now
in this pixel perfect world
of software altered blemish free
many eventually becoming
touch free from computer
chat room encounters
and digital dates

Let us hold each other
feel the time that love makes
our hearts beating as they will
year after years of being true
our eyes know each other
in ways the younger cannot see.

Gregory Zeorlin 2/10/2011 12:37pm

Artist’s Comments

I have a file cabinet full of poetry although I rarely memorize what I write. Occasionally a poem chronicles some event but my writing isn’t just for keeping a journal. For several decades I’ve wondered why bother writing these random poems (aka thoughts).  But since I usually include the date I write a poem, I’ll admit I’m starting to enjoy reviewing past pieces that were composed near the same date and month as now.

I wrote “Seeing You Now” on February 10, 2011. It seems to anticipate Valentine’s Day but I doubt I wrote it specifically for that holiday. Reading it four years after the date it was first written, the poem seems uplifting, quiet and even “tender” in a sort of non-commercial way. Or maybe I’m just getting too soft in my middle-aged man way of seeing?… Nah!

Share or re-blog this poem. Someone else might enjoy reading it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

