Pole Dancing + Interior Design + Visual Art

Today’s blog title seems odd… It’s the result of an Instagram update about printing my fine art on objects of everyday use. I transferred an image of “Veil 519” (a piece from my “Veil Series” mixed media/digital media paintings and prints) to a throw pillow. I shared images of this design on Instagram. Next, a pole dancing instructor and an interior designer both liked the pillow designs.  This is why “Pole Dancing + Interior Design + Fine Art” became today’s blog post title. The Instagram responses confirm the unexpected ways fine art reaches out to inspire a diverse group of wonderful people all doing their own thing.  I love it.

Throw pillows from the Veil Series design project.

Throw pillows from the Veil Series design project.

I’m an artist trying to let others know what I do. There’s the risk my efforts will feel like an “infomercial” to some. But I need to use social media to introduce a wider community to my art and designs. So hello to those who discover my studio practice! I welcome your comments and questions. Please forward this blog post to your friends.

I’m using my fine art in ways that let more people see what I do. Art galleries and museums are valid places to view art. But it takes time to go to these traditional art spaces. I’ve exhibited for years and know such places also isolate art from the everyday lives of many people. My fine art brings beauty into our daily lives by letting people see art on things we use often. Please view my “Veil Series design project” at Redbubble.com to see how familiar things (phone cases, scarves, skirts, etc.) change when associated with my fine art.

Leave a Reply

